About the Awards

The Premier's Science Awards recognise and celebrate the achievements of the Western Australian science community. Award recipients exemplify the outstanding scientific research and engagement efforts taking place in the State.

The Awards cover all fields of science, including natural, medical, applied and technological science, engineering and mathematics.

The Awards are supported by the Western Australian Government and administered by the the Department of Jobs, Tourism, Science and Innovation. 

The five categories in the 2019 Premier's Science Awards are: 

  • Scientist of the Year ($50,000 prize)
  • Woodside Early Career Scientist of the Year ($10,000 prize)
  • ExxonMobil Student Scientist of the Year ($10,000 prize)
  • Shell Aboriginal STEM Student of the Year ($10,000 prize)
  • Chevron Science Engagement Initiative of the Year ($10,000 prize)

2019 Applications

To submit your application or for further information about the Premier's Science Awards please contact science@jtsi.wa.gov.au or visit the Deparmtent of Jobs, Tourism, Science and Innovation's website

2019 Key Dates

Applications open - 5 March, 2019

Applications close - 10am (AWST) 23 April, 2019

Finalists announced - June, 2019

Awards ceremony -  13 August, 2019


The Awards are proudly sponsored by Chevron, ExxonMobil, Shell and Woodside.

  Chevron, ExxonMobil, Shell and Woodside logos corporate sponsors


The Premier's Science Awards are proudly supported by Curtin University, Edith Cowan University, Murdoch University, Notre Dame University and the University of Western Australia. 

Premier's Science Awards 2018 Supporters


Advice and resources

In the media